About /
Eastman

Founded in January 2010, Eastman was set up to produce and promote the work of artistic director/choreographer Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. Cherkaoui’s work provides the audience with a vast array of projects and collaborations; ranging from contemporary dance, theatre, ballet, opera, musical and other forms of performance. His non-hierarchical thinking on movement, body language and culture is the basis of his artistic approach. Set in his native harbor city of Antwerp (Belgium), Eastman forms the central point for all of Cherkaoui’s work. Eastman is resident at deSingel International Art Campus (Antwerp). Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui is associate artist at Sadler’s Wells (London, UK). As of September 2015 the choreographer is artistic director of Ballet Flanders. 

Since the foundation in 2010, Cherkaoui created amongst others Babel (words), Play, Rein, TeZukA, Puz/zle, 4D and Fractus V under the wings of Eastman. Eastman also coordinates all the work of Cherkaoui for other organizations.

International partners of Eastman include La Monnaie Brussels, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Grande Halle de La Villette Paris, deSingel International Arts Campus Antwerp and Sadler’s Wells London.

Eastman is supported by the Flemish Government and the BNP Paribas Foundation. Eastman was European Cultural Ambassador 2013.

About /
Eastman

Fondée en janvier 2010, Eastman a pour mission de produire et de diffuser les œuvres du directeur artistique et chorégraphe Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. Ses créations offrent au public un large éventail de projets et de collaborations, allant de la danse contemporaine, du théâtre, du ballet, de l’opéra et de la comédie musicale à d’autres formes de spectacle vivant et de performance. Sa pensée non hiérarchique sur le mouvement, le langage corporel et la culture constitue le fondement de son approche artistique. Installée dans la ville portuaire d’Anvers, où est né Cherkaoui, Eastman forme le noyau de toute son œuvre. La compagnie est en résidence à deSingel – Campus des Arts international (Anvers). Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui est en outre artiste associé au Sadler’s Wells Theater (Londres). À partir de septembre 2015 le chorégraphe est directeur artistique du Ballet de Flandre.

Depuis sa fondation en 2010, Cherkaoui a créé, entre autres, Babel(words), Play, Rein, TeZukA, Puz/zle, 4D et Fractus V sous l’égide de sa compagnie. Celle-ci coordonne également les créations de Cherkaoui pour d’autres organisations.

Parmi les partenaires internationaux d’Eastman, on peut citer La Monnaie Bruxelles, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, la Grande Halle de La Villette Paris, deSingel - Campus des Arts international et Sadler’s Wells Londres.

Eastman reçoit le soutien des Autorités flamandes et de la Fondation BNP Paribas. Eastman est Ambassadeur Culturel Européen 2013.